Tuesday 28th August 2012


Tuesday 28th August 2012


Republic of Ireland racer Wayne Kirwan took a thrilling manngo.im Junior Manx Grand Prix win, his first victory on the Isle of Man ahead of Durham rider Mike Minns. The pair couldn’t be separated after the first two laps but the refuelling pit stop proved decisive as Kirwan established a seventeen second lead by the end of the third lap. The Irish racer finished runner up in both the Junior and Senior races at the 2010 meeting but missed last year’s races.

Pre race favourite Jamie Coward, who qualified fastest, was first away but he was reported as off at Laurel Bank, just before Ballacraine, on the first lap leaving Northern Ireland’s Stephen McKnight at the front of the field at the first checkpoint, Glen Helen, from the Republic of Ireland’s Michael Sweeney with Kirwan in third.

Kirwin and McKnight swapped places by Ballaugh with the former holding a lead of less than a second from Sweeney with McKnight less than 2 seconds behind the leader by Ballaugh.

McKnight came back to lead at the end of the first lap with an opening lap of 19:55.08 (113.656) with Wayne Kirwan (19:56.22-113.548mph) in second and Mike Minns (19:56.84 – 113.489mph) moving up into third ahead of Sweeney (19.56.91- 113.482mph), with less than two seconds separating the first four.

The race at the front got even closer when Minns jumped to the front of the field by Ramsey on lap 2 with less than a second separating the top three of Minns, McKnight and Kirwin. By Cronk Ny Mona the gap between the front two – Minns and Kirwan - was reported to be a mere 0.18 seconds.

However Kirwin’s crew put in a decisive refuelling pit and by Glen Helen on the third lap Kirwan had established a lead of almost 18 seconds from Minns with McKnight a further seven seconds behind in third. Local rider Paul Smythe moved up into third by the Bungalow but shortly after was reported off at Keppel Gate but with no serious injury, with McKnight retaking the final podium place.

That remained the top three by the end of the race with Kirwan taking the win with 1:19.26.46 – 113.986mph, to Minns’ 1:19.53.87 – 113.335mph) with McKnight securing third with 1:20.04.99 – 113.072. There was also a stunning performance from James Cowton, the winner of Saturday Lightweight Newcomers Race who finished in fourth place with an overall time of 1:20.51.62 – 111.986mph.

Pictures: Dave Kneen ManxPhotosOnline.com and Stephen Davison/Pacemaker Press International

Pictures: Dave Kneen ManxPhotosOnline.com

Pictures: Dave Kneen ManxPhotosOnline.com

Picture - Stephen Davison/Pacemaker Press International

Press contact:
Simon Crellin
DL: 00 44 (0) 1624 830 860
MOB: 00 44 (0) 7624 246 222

Latest Forum Posts

Forum Login

Who's Online

We have 16 guests and no members online


Pearson in TT visit


Lisburn rider Michael Pearson made a flying visit to the Isle of Man at the weekend, when the Hotties Thermal Packs rider spent two days being shown the daunting 37 mile TT mouintain circuit under the watchful eyes of Johnny Barton and Richard "Milky" Quayle.
Pearson, who will make his Isle of Man TT Races debut in 2013, was impressed with the circuit and is eager to tackle the Greatest Road Race in the World next June, where it his his intention to finish every race he starts.
Pearson, a former Irish Superbike Champion made the trip over to the Isle of Man on Friday night and spent Saturday in the company of Johnny Barton who with Pearson took in serveral laps of the Mountain circuit.
Then on Sunday Morning, Pearson was scrutinised with precision by Richard Quayle who showed Pearson in detail the TT circuit and advised the Co-Down rider on the way to tackle the Worlds greatest road racing circuit.
Michael Pearson:  "The weekend was very helpful indeed, and I must thank those involved for all their help in getting me over and putting me up, and to Johnny and Richard for showing me the TT circuit.   I had a bit of an idea as to the direction of the TT circuit, but once you are there and see the tarmac that you will be racing one under your feet, well, its totally different.    It looks really exciting and very smooth most of the way round, and it is a circuit that I think I can become attached to very quickly, but I am under no doubt that I am not going to be a TT hero or anything like it in the near future.  For me, my aim would be to start each race and finish each race. I am not bothered where I finish, but its a place that you need to treat with respect and the more laps you get in the better I beleive you will acustom yourself to the circuit.    Hopefully I can get over for another scouting trip before the TT races, but one thing is for sure, and that is I am loking forward to the challenge".
Pearson will ride the Isle of Man TT Races under the Hotties Thermal Pack Road Racing Team banner in 2013.  He will be supplied with a Superstock BMW S1000RR, and a GSXR Suzuki Supersport 600.  Along with this, Pearson will also have an ER6 Kawasaki 650 Supertwin at his disposal thanks to Rod Lee Motorcycles in North Yorkshire.
Pictures by Martyn Willson (www.pitlanephotography.com)
Richard Quayle gives Pearson some advice on tackling the world famous Isle of Man TT circuit.

Free business joomla templates